Antitrust in the Global Economy

We’re excited to announce the topic of our 2020 Symposium, which we co-host with the John Moore Society of International Law. It is “Antitrust in the Global Economy.”

Antitrust is in the Zeitgeist in the United States because of Presidential candidates like Elizabeth Warren and the arguably anticompetitive conduct of tech companies like Facebook, Google, and Amazon, which not only exercise near-monopolistic control in their respective markets but participate as sellers on platforms they own or operate. Antitrust has also experienced an international resurgence, partly because of lax enforcement in the United States until only recently. 128 countries now have merger control rules, and the European Union has increased its antitrust legal division by a factor of 8.

The symposium will take place in March of 2020 at the law school.

In VJIL’s first publication in Volume 60, After the Max: Rebuilding U.S. Aviation Leadership, 60 Va. J. Int’l L. Online 1 (2019), aviation expert Roncevert Ganan Almond explores the legal aftermath of the 737 Max cashes, specifically:

“[t]he Trump administration’s political response, deregulatory agenda, and disdain for international institutions.”

Almonds’ Online Essay proposes four areas for reform and calls for an examination of the Federal Aviation Administration’s system of delegation:

“[T]he United States should approach the 737 MAX accidents as an opportunity to rebuild its leadership role by conducting a thorough and transparent investigation and reforming its regulatory oversight program.

“Areas for reform include: (1) increasing supervision and control of appointed personnel at designated organizations; (2) improving the staffing methodology and training program for FAA aircraft engineers overseeing designees; (3) developing more effective guidance material and job aids to enable oversight of delegated functions; (4) escalating surveillance and enforcement in relation to designated organizations; and (5) providing the adequate political will and resources for the FAA to strengthen its oversight of industry designees.”

Read the full Essay here.

Submissions Review Editors

Tara More
John Eubanks
Page Garbee
Nathaniel Pribil
Jack Danon
Rebecca Lamb
Grace Katalinich
Daniel Baquet
Manal Cheema
Isabelle Lelogeais
David Wang

Productions Editors

Daniel Cody
Alex Caton
Eleanor Coates
Erin Brown
Jordan Walsh
Kyle McGoey
Jolena Zabel
Pierce MacConaghy
Christian Sorenson
Hannah Keefer
Rachel Raycraft

Publications Editors

Callie Ring
Carly Wasserman
Leah Deskins
Anne Bigler
Hannah Hummel
India Ghosh
Dominick Giovanniello
Christian Rice
Erica Johnson

Notes Editors

Alex Karahalios
Armina Manning
Hayley Hahn
Lisa Bennett
Aidan Coleman

Online Editors

Ray Hou
Scott Bouboulis
Ines Tulic
Lily Teague
Jeremy Gordon

Research & Projects Editors

Joy Wang
Ana Tobar
Kolleen Gladden
Jen Kelso
Marc Petrine

Assistant Managing Editors

William Kelly
Brian Bruzzo
Chance McCraw
Steven Bonniwell
Avalee Hagerty
Alex Gregorio

JAM v. International Finance Corp.

139 S. Ct. 759 (2019)

JAM answers the question whether the International Organizations Immunities Act (“IOIA”) of 1945 “grants international organizations the virtually absolute immunity foreign governments enjoyed when the IOIA was enacted, or the more limited immunity they enjoy today.”

In dissent, Justice Breyer cites to the Virginia Journal of International Law as persuasive authority. The majority’s opinion, writes Breyer, threatens multilateralism because “one nation alone, through application of its own liability rules (by nonexpert judges), can shape the policy choices or actions that an international organization believes it must take or refrain from taking.” See below for the relevant passage.

“By restricting the immunity that international organizations enjoy, [the Court] ‘opens the door to divided decisions of the courts of different member states,’ including U.S. courts, ‘passing judgment on the rules, regulations, and decisions of international bodies.’ Broadbent v. Organization of Am. States, 628 F.2d 27, 35 (CADC 1980); cf. Singer, Jurisdictional Immunity of International Organizations: Human Rights and Functional Necessity Concerns, 36 Va. J. Int’l L. 53, 63-64 (1995) (recognizing that ‘[i]t would be inappropriate for municipal courts to cut deep into the region of autonomous decision-making authority of institutions such as the World Bank.’).”


Jia Anderson Grace Katalinich
Lisa Bennett Hannah Keefer
Hunter Bezner William Kelly
Anne Bigler Jennifer Kelso
Steven Bonniwell Hyde Kwan
Melvin Bouboulis Rebecca Lamb
Erin Brown
Sarah-Jane Lorenzo
Brian Bruzzo Maria Luevano
Asia Cadet Christina Luk
Mary Carpenter
Pierce MacConaghy
Alexander Caton
James Mackenzie
Dylan Cattie Armina Manning
Eleanor Coates Peter McCarthy
Daniel Cody Chance McCraw
Aidan Coleman
Jehanne McCullough
Matthew Cooper Kyle McGoey
Jack Danon Tara More
Leah Deskins Rachel Nixon
Jennifer Elchisak Arjun Ogale
John Eubanks Jonah Panikar
Page Garbee Anna Pepper
India Ghosh Marc Petrine
Dominick Giovanniello Nathaniel Pribil
Kolleen Gladden Callista Ring
Catherine Guerrier Jana Ruthberg
Arezoo Habibi Caline Shamiyeh
Avalee Hagerty
Christian Sorensen
Hayley Hahn Lily Teague
Elisabeth Hauser
Ana Tobar-Romero
Roger Hensley Ines Tulic
Ray Hou William Vallar
Hannah Hummel Jordan Walsh
Dylan Igoe Joy Wang
Maxine Jacobson
Carly Wasserman
Alexandra Karahalios Jolena Zabel

In 2019-20, the Virginia Journal of International Law will celebrate its sixtieth anniversary. Each issue in Volume 60 will include special letters and essays commemorating the journal. The first commemorative letter will be written by the Dean of the law school, Risa Goluboff.

The journal will also invite its board of advisors, past editors, and scholars from across the country to a banquet in March of 2020. Check back frequently for updates on this special year, and see our current newsletter below.

VJIL 19-20 60th Newsletter (Vol. 60)

On April 1, the Virginia Journal of Law officially elected its 2019-20 Executive Board, which will lead the journal in its sixtieth year.

  • Jake Rush, Editor-in-Chief
  • Britton Taubenfeld, Managing Editor
  • Brendan Henley, Publications
  • Will Tucker, Productions
  • Astrid Cevallos, Submissions
  • Emily Walpole, Notes
  • Sarah Houston, Online
  • Hannah Schaller, Research & Projects

Congratulations to the 2019-20 Board.