Hardy Cross Dillard Award

The Hardy Cross Dillard Award was established in honor of Hardy Cross Dillard, retired Judge of the International Court of Justice and former Dean and James Monroe Professor of Law at the University of Virginia School of Law. This $300 prize is awarded to the author of the best Note by a UVA Law student in a current volume of the Virginia Journal of International Law. The Prize is awarded by a panel of three members, two of whom are on the UVA Law faculty, and at least one of whom is on our Board of Advisors.

To submit a note for consideration, contact Kirsten Brown, our Notes Editor.

Past Winners

Volume 52 Winner:  R. Zachary Torres-Fowler, “Undermining ICSID: How the Global Antibribery Regime Impairs Investor-State Arbitration,” (Issue 52.4).

Volume 51 Winner: David C. Smith, “Shifting Sands: Cost-and-Fee Allocation in International Investment Arbitration,” (Issue 51:3).

Volume 50 Winner:  Charles Weinograd, “Clarifying Grease: Mitigating the Threat of Overdeterrence by Defining the Scope of the Routine Governmental Action Exception,” (Issue 50:2).

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close